UL International Crown

UL International Crown

The UL International Crown debuted in 2014 with a format that was unfamiliar to most. But, as what happens with most new events, fans have gotten used to the format and the event is gaining traction. Don’t look for it to resemble the Solheim Cup or team competitions such as the Ryder Cup or President’s Cup.

The event consists of the top for golfers from eight countries. Each country’s roster is determined by the Rolex World Rankings. Countries must have four players ranked or they’re not eligible.

Points are awarded based on who wins the match. Teams will receive two points for wins, one for a tie and zero for a loss. The most points over the four day event will determine the winner. Spain won the inaugural event in 2014. The United States won in 2016.

This year’s participants are:

Group A: Republic of Korea, England, Australia, Chinese Taipei

Group B: United States, Japan, Thailand, Sweden

The event runs from October 4th through the 7th.



twitter logo   twitter logo   twitter logo

Catch more of Mook's Writing